top of page
  • Lydia

Chao Chile

22 de julio, 2019



I pressed my memory card into my computer this morning, only to be met with heartache. I flipped through a variety of pictures and was flooded with the memories that felt like fading images in my mind. Of my Chilean family. Of my home. Of my sweet amigas. Of what I called home for 4 months. It has been a month since I said tearful goodbyes and hopped on a plane to say hello to the United States. Even now I cannot fully process what has gone on in my heart and mind since this time of transition and readjustment began. It has included an overwhelming amount of emotions, and sometimes has evoked the absence of them. It has brought with it moments of frustrations that have taught me grace, as I struggle to answer questions from those who love me. It has brought with it long-awaited embraces, full of laughter and buckets of tears. I never thought it would be this difficult to say goodbye, but it only affirms that God allowed me to plant my feet in this sweet place and call it home for a bit. It only affirms that God provided immensely, as He gave me a family in my church-community- connected under the blood of Jesus- that I will forever miss and love. It only affirms that the ministry He gave me for a season was ministry I held near to my heart- the people I served, the LORD I served, and those I had the privilege to serve with. I will forever be thankful for this season and assignment. I will forever be thankful for what I learned, the people I grew to love and call my people, the hills that witnessed conversations full of God’s mercy amidst breathless outpours of the heart, the global church, and the moments that refined me. For now, I will wait, because I know poco a poco, the Lord will allow me to look back, process, and see His immense faithfulness through this chapter of my life. There is still so much to glean from the things He did, the lessons He taught me, and the work He did. It is with joy that I say see you soon beautiful Chile, forever you will hold a piece of my heart and feel like home to me.



67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SERVING AS A VESSEL + SEEING THE FAITHFULNESS OF CHRIST

 

bottom of page